Craster Community Website


Craster Parish Council


Agendas & Minutes



Current Notices

The Parish Council are migrating the information contained in this section of the Craster Community Trust web-site to a Parish Council portal hosted by the Northumberland Association of Local Councils (NALC).  The Craster Parish Council information can be found at

The information on this site will be retained for a period of time but new information will only be added to the new portal.

The Parish Council would like to express its thanks to the Community Trust for allowing it to use space on their web-site.  As a community we were among the forerunners in Northumberland in giving a web presence to both Community Trust and Parish Council matters.


On Thursday May 4th elections will be held to elect a County Councillor to represent the Longhoughton Ward (which includes Craster) at Northumberland County Council.  There will be no election for Craster Parish Council.  As there are 10 seats on Craster Parish Council but only 7 candidates put themselves forwards for election, those candidates are all elected as the result of an uncontested election.  The Parish Councillors to sit after May 4th. will be:

Margaret Brooks
Henry Cummins
Ann Fettis
Mark Green
Bryn Owen
Elizaeth Pearson
Alan Punton


The Parish Council currently has vacancies for three Parish Councillors.  Anyone wishing to put their name forward for co-option to these positions should contact the Clerk to the Parish Council at

Governance and Administration

Code of Conduct
Standing Orders
Financial Regulations
Data Protection Policy
Publication Scheme
Procedure for claiming Travel Expenses
Procedure for handling Planning Applications
Annual Governance Statements


Parish Council Meetings

Meetings of the Parish Council normally take place on the third Thursday of each month exccept August and December. The meetings are held in the Memorial Hall, Craster, commencing at 7:15pm.  Members of the public and press are invited to attend.

January 19th
February 16th
March 16th
April 20th
May 4th. Parish Council Election
May 18th
June 15th
July 20th
September 21st
October 19th
November 16th

Other meetings may be called if the Parish Council has urgent business to discuss.  These meetings will be advertised here and on the notice boards in Craster and Dunstan.

Agendas and Minutes for Parish Council Meetings can be found here.


Parish Council Members

Vice Chairperson
Clerk to the PC

Mr Bryn Owen
Mr John Gallon
Mrs Ruth Younger
Mrs Pauline Baird
Mrs Margaret Brooks
Col Michael Craster
Mrs Elizabeth Pearson
Mr Alan Punton
Mr Martin Smith
Mr William Sutherland


Parish Council Committees

The Parish Council has no committees or sub-committees of its own.  It is represented on the Embleton Joint Burial Committee along with Embleton and Newton Parish Councils.



Embleton Joint Burial Committee

Mr Bryn Owen
Mrs Elizabeth Pearson

Agendas and minutes for Embleton Joint Burial Committee can be found here.


Parish Meetings

At least one Parish Meeting must be held each year between 1st. March and 1st. June (inclusive).  Other Parish Meetings may be called by the Chair of the Parish Council, 2 other Parish Councillors or 6 people on the electoral roll for the Parish.

Parish Meetings are not Parish Council meetings.  They are open meetings at which all electors in the Parish are welcome and are invited to take part.  Others may attend but may not take part in the discussions.

Parish Meetings will be advertised on the Notice Boards in Craster and Dunstan and on this web-site.

Agendas and Minutes can be found here.


The Clerk can be contacted directly at

Northumberland County Council Planning Search

Map of Craster Parish (civil) Boundary

Home Community Visitors About Craster Diary Contact Us